Reflection on Essay 1

    I admit I was a little intimidated when I first walked into the classroom Tuesday,when I saw everyone at the computers around the room.I’m not very good at typing and I thought that we were going to have to type the essay on the computers,it being a timed essay,I was sure I was doomed.To my surprise,Dr.Crowther said I could write it out,which eased my anxiety.I believe I did ok on the essay,as far as my writing,but I wish I had more time.Writing under a time restraint is not so easy.The topic I picked was teaching someone about something that I’ve learned and I don’t know if I was comfortable doing so.I believe I could have done better with the topic of talking about one of my strengths.I believe I have a lot of strengths.But,I chose this topic because of the job that I work on,in which I pass on my knowledge  to customers every day.It is very satisfying to show someone how to do a project,in which they have no clue on how to do,and come back the next day with a good report saying that what I told them to do worked.They fixed their problem,without having to hire someone to do it for them,with the knowledge that I passed on to them.The young man that I wrote about in my essay was actually my stepson and I enjoyed teaching him some of the ins and outs of doing construction.He was a quick learner and he also enjoyed learning what I do everyday.I wasn’t able to convey a lot of our adventures on the job sight because of the amount of time we had to write the essay.I also don’t believe that I was able to get a good close on the story,to get my point across.Before I knew it,Dr. Crowther was saying we had 10 minutes left.Whatever corrections that Dr.Crowther puts on my essay I will definitely use for future writing.It’s been a long time since I’ve written anything down to be graded.

Leave a Reply

